UNLIMITED Audiobooks and eBooks

Over 40,000 books & works on all major devices

Get ALL YOU CAN for FREE for 30 days!

Ten Years Later

Alexandre Dumas

Book Overview: 

The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later is the last of the Musketeer novels. It is usually divided into four volumes, The Vicomte de Bragerloone, Ten Years Later, Louise de la Vallière, and The Man in the Iron Mask. This is the second of those 4 volumes, Ten Years Later.

Louis XIV is well past the age where he should rule, but the ailing Cardinal Mazarin refuses to relinquish the reins of power. Meanwhile, Charles II, a king without a country, travels Europe seeking aid from his fellow monarchs. Athos still resides at La Fre while his son, Raoul de Bragelonne, has entered into the service in the household of M. le Prince. As for Raoul, he has his eyes on an entirely different object than his father -- his childhood companion, Louise de la Valliere, with whom he is hopelessly in love. Porthos, now a baron, is off on some mysterious mission along with Aramis, who is now the Bishop of Vannes.

How does All You Can Books work?

All You Can Books gives you UNLIMITED access to over 40,000 Audiobooks, eBooks, and Foreign Language courses. Download as many audiobooks, ebooks, language audio courses, and language e-workbooks as you want during the FREE trial and it's all yours to keep even if you cancel during the FREE trial. The service works on any major device including computers, smartphones, music players, e-readers, and tablets. You can try the service for FREE for 30 days then it's just $19.99 per month after that. So for the price everyone else charges for just 1 book, we offer you UNLIMITED audio books, e-books and language courses to download and enjoy as you please. No restrictions.

Book Excerpt: 
. . .ion, been my friend,—why have you shown suspicion of me?"

Mademoiselle de la Valliere did not answer. "I fondly thought you loved me," said Raoul, whose voice became more and more agitated; "I fondly thought you consented to all the plans we had, together, laid down for our own happiness, at the time when we wandered up and down the walks of Cour-Cheverny, under the avenue of poplar trees leading to Blois. You do not answer me, Louise. Is it possible," he inquired, breathing with difficulty, "that you no longer love me?"

"I did not say so," replied Louise, softly.

"Oh! tell me the truth, I implore you. All my hopes in life are centered in you. I chose you for your gentle and simple tastes. Do not suffer yourself to be dazzled, Louise, now that you are in the midst of a court where all that is pure too soon becomes corrupt—where all that is young too soon grows old. Louise, close your ears, so as not to hear what may be said; s. . . Read More

Community Reviews

I wish I cared about any of the romance subplots, because there are some beautiful descriptions in there, but this book simply has too much detail. I feel like Cate Blanchett in "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" when she foolishly tells the aliens that what she wants for a reward is to "know everyth...more

Again, this was OK, but had alot of stuff I'm not sure why is in there. I'm starting to think that these books could just as well have been one volume, with as many pages as one of the books.
The language is of course beautiful, but again, it's so "flowery", it makes it much, much longer than it...more

The third of the D'Artagnan romances is a huge book. I read it in this form, making this the second of the four parts of the third volume. In this one, the Musketeers take a backseat to some Court intrigue. It involves the intrigues surrounding Henrietta, the sister to King Charles II of England,...more

The third and final volume of the 'd'Artagnon Romances', of which "The Three Musketeers" and "Twenty Years After" constitute the first and second volumes, The Vicomte de Bragelonne was first serialized between October 1847 to January 1850. It has subsequently been published in three, four, and fi...more

It's nice to finally get to spend some time with the characters and get to know them but the original four were almost completely gone from this installment. Also I am completely disappointed in La Valliere and feel bad for Raoul. I would have liked to spend more time with him and less time chasi...more

Went into it LOVING the three musketeers, only to find a book that resembles that one only for the mere fact that some of the characters are the same.
Of course, loving Dumas' writing, I did enjoy the overall idea of the book and the actions in there, but I was too disappointed to thoroughly love...more

I love the original and this addition to their history only adds to the flavor. Clean, easily understood plot and well narrated. Recommended

This is the fourth in the D'Artignan romance series by Dumas and, in my mind, the slowest of the series so far. It think that it deals far too much with French court intrigue and does not have enough of the swashbuckling excitement of the previous three in the series.

But I have to say than it is...more

This second of the four volumes* which comprise the conclusion of the “The Four Musketeers” (The Vicomte de Bragelonne, Ten Years Later, Louise de la Valliere, The Man in the Iron Mask) is perhaps the most significant, for it shows the reader, more clearly than the three others, how the meaning o...more

View More Reviews