UNLIMITED Audiobooks and eBooks

Over 40,000 books & works on all major devices

Get ALL YOU CAN for FREE for 30 days!

The Land That Time Forgot

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Book Overview: 

The Land That Time Forgot is a science fiction novel, the first of Edgar Rice Burroughs’ “Caspak” trilogy. Starting out as a harrowing wartime sea adventure, the story ultimately develops into that of a fantastical lost world.

How does All You Can Books work?

All You Can Books gives you UNLIMITED access to over 40,000 Audiobooks, eBooks, and Foreign Language courses. Download as many audiobooks, ebooks, language audio courses, and language e-workbooks as you want during the FREE trial and it's all yours to keep even if you cancel during the FREE trial. The service works on any major device including computers, smartphones, music players, e-readers, and tablets. You can try the service for FREE for 30 days then it's just $19.99 per month after that. So for the price everyone else charges for just 1 book, we offer you UNLIMITED audio books, e-books and language courses to download and enjoy as you please. No restrictions.

Book Excerpt: 
. . .There is only one place you can go," von Schoenvorts sent word to me, "and that is Kiel. You can't land anywhere else in these waters. If you wish, I will take you there, and I can promise that you will be treated well."

"There is another place we can go," I sent back my reply, "and we will before we'll go to Germany. That place is hell."

Chapter 3

Those were anxious days, during which I had but little opportunity to associate with Lys. I had given her the commander's room, Bradley and I taking that of the deck-officer, while Olson and two of our best men occupied the room ordinarily allotted to petty officers. I made Nobs' bed down in Lys' room, for I knew she would feel less alone.

Nothing of much moment occurred for a while after we left British waters behind us. We ran steadily along upon the surface, making good time. The first two boats we sighted made off as fast as they could go; and the third,. . . Read More

Community Reviews

This is actually the narrative of Bowen J. Tyler and his adventures and mis-adventures in the strange land of Caprona.
It starts with Tyler, an American being a passenger on a ship in the English Channel, this is during World War I and unfortunately the ship is torpedoed by a German submarine called

Oh man, I love Burroughs. Some terms and musings of Bowen are, regrettably, outdated, but I looked past those to enjoy this awesome adventure. I love the concept of seeing man evolve from tribe to tribe.

Can't wait to read the second one!

Also this. Major LOL. “Californians, as a rule, are familiar

This is the Omnibus Version of Edgar Rice Burrough's (ERB) Caspakian Novels. Included here are:

The Land That Time Forgot

The People That Time Forgot

Out of Time's Abyss

These are three novels of adventure told in a classic style similar to that of Jack London, Arthur Conan Doyle and H.G. Wells. This is

I enjoyed this more at age eighteen than at age fifty eight. I’m afraid forty years have made me more analytical, more critical, more rational, and more cynical.

When Burroughs published this in 1918 Piltdown Man had not yet been exposed as a hoax and terms like “negroid” and “Jap” were not yet intu

Edgar Rice Burroughs is quickly becoming a part of my Authors-I-Regularly-Take-Promenades-With club. His creations are the stuff dreams are made of--if you're lucky and have awesome dreams. This is the first book in the Caspak series, which made its appearance in three installments in the Blue Book

The Caspak trilogy, comprising The Land that Time Forgot, The People that Time Forgot, and Out of Time's Abyss, is classic Edgar Rice Burroughs adventure. The three stories trace the adventures of three typical Burroughs heroes (two Americans and an Englishman, all three wondrously brave man's men w


Fun adventure from Edgar Rice Burroughs fairly early in his career (1918). It's really 3 adventures in one, and when Ace reprinted it/them in the 60s, it was as three books: The Land That Time Forgot, The People That Time Forgot and Out of Time's Abyss.

I'm sure I read these sometime in the 70s; I re

View More Reviews