UNLIMITED Audiobooks and eBooks

Over 40,000 books & works on all major devices

Get ALL YOU CAN for FREE for 30 days!

Further Chronicles of Avonlea

L. M. Montgomery

Book Overview: 

Further Chronicles of Avonlea is a collection of short stories by L.M. Montgomery and is a sequel to Chronicles of Avonlea.It includes a number of stories relating to the inhabitants of the fictional Canadian village of Avonlea and its region, located on Prince Edward Island.

How does All You Can Books work?

All You Can Books gives you UNLIMITED access to over 40,000 Audiobooks, eBooks, and Foreign Language courses. Download as many audiobooks, ebooks, language audio courses, and language e-workbooks as you want during the FREE trial and it's all yours to keep even if you cancel during the FREE trial. The service works on any major device including computers, smartphones, music players, e-readers, and tablets. You can try the service for FREE for 30 days then it's just $19.99 per month after that. So for the price everyone else charges for just 1 book, we offer you UNLIMITED audio books, e-books and language courses to download and enjoy as you please. No restrictions.

Book Excerpt: 
. . .e of them, if you would come over here and sit by me."

Rachel went unhesitatingly. When she reached him he pulled her down on his knee, and she liked it.

"What a nice little craft you are," he said. "Do you suppose, now, that you could give me a kiss?"

As a rule, Rachel hated kissing. She could seldom be prevailed upon to kiss even her uncles—who knew it and liked to tease her for kisses until they aggravated her so terribly that she told them she couldn't bear men. But now she promptly put her arms about this strange man's neck and gave him a hearty smack.

"I like you," she said frankly.

She felt his arms tighten suddenly about her. The blue eyes looking into hers grew misty and very tender. Then, all at once, Rachel knew who he was. He was her father. She did not say anything, but she laid her curly head down on his shoulder and felt a great happiness, as of one who . . . Read More

Community Reviews

Although I adore Lucy Maud Montgomery and consider her a perennial favourite, this collection of short stories (her Further Chronicles of Avonlea has never managed to achieve this exalted status for me. True, many of the presented offerings are as sweet and as poignant as ever and some even rate amo

Another wonderful collection of charming Avonlea short stories, ranging from the humorous to melodramatic, and every bit as enticing and delightful as the first book, Chronicles of Avonlea. I was going to give it a full 5, but the last few stories weren’t quite so good as the rest, and I was a teeny

This is probably my least favourite of Montgomery's collections, although apparently these were stories rejected from Chronicles of Avonlea, which at least explains why some of them simply aren't up to her usual standards. Below is an overview of my brief thoughts on each story after reading them, b

Originally published in 1920, Further Chronicles of Avonlea was the second collection of short stories by L.M. Montgomery, the author of such beloved children's classics as
Anne of Green Gables
Emily of New Moon
. It is my understanding that Montgomery never gave her permission for this p

This second collection of stories set in and around Avonlea wasn’t as strong as the first. In fact, most of them are very formulaic and the ones that aren’t are either very morbid or just flat out weird.

There are a couple of stories where Montgomery seems to be veering into the horror genre but then

Deeply adorable. I suppose there's a certain sameness to the various Avonlea shorts, but as it's a sameness I find comforting and comfortable, I can't bring myself to mind. There's something wonderfully domestic about these stories, in their small scale, in the attention they pay to women's lives an

I didn't come up with too many expectations for these stories, since I read other reviews that said they were not as good as the first Chronicles. So, to my surprise, they were really quite good. Most of them, at least. I liked Her Father's Daughter and The Son of Her Mother best of all, but The

WILDLY uneven. So uneven that I'm doing mini-reviews to attempt to figure out how to actually rate this thing.

Aunt Cynthia’s Persian Cat
An eccentric Aunt asks her nieces to look after her finicky Persian cat and hijinks (and ROMANCE) ensue! Fun, sweet, slightly silly: peak Montgomery. 4 stars.

The Ma

It hurts my heart to write this review. Truly, the Anne books and Emily of New Moon are some of my favorite books, and I adored L.M. Montgomery because of them. I could excuse all the other stories in the book, even if I found them trite and overly dramatic, and really overplaying the unhealthy pare

"I guess," said Aunt Isabel, aside to the little school teacher, as she wiped the tears from her keen old eyes, "that there's a kind of failure that's the best success."
-- The Brother Who Failed

Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920, L. C. Page & Co.), second in the Chronicles of Avonlea series by

View More Reviews